Differing Bad Faith Insurance Laws

Read this tip to make your life smarter, better, faster and wiser. LifeTips is the place to go when you need to know about Insurance Claims and other Personal Injury topics.

What are the different bad faith insurance laws in effect?

Differing Bad Faith Insurance Laws

There is no single law that governs how insurance companies are required to behave. In 1945, the McCarran-Ferguson Act (Federal) was approved by Congress to essentially disallow any regulation of the insurance industry on a federal level. The states themselves have individual insurance watch-groups and agencies that oversee the practices of insurance companies within their state, but these do vary state to state. Generally, these "unfair insurance practices acts" outlaw all of the things deemed to be in "bad faith", such as neglecting to pay a claim, non-communication and delay of claim payment. You can search the web or local library for your specific state's laws.



Nobody has commented on this tip yet. Be the first.


URL: (optional)


Not finding the advice and tips you need on this Personal Injury Tip Site? Request a Tip Now!

Guru Spotlight
Sheri Ann Richerson